Joey Votto assumes ground rule double is foul ball (Video)

On Saturday in Pittsburgh, Cincinnati Reds first baseman Joey Votto sliced a ball down the left field line and immediately turned his back thinking that he just hit a foul ball. Instead, however, the ball landed in fair territory and bounced into the stands, and Votto turned around and realized he had just hit a ground rule double.



Looks like Votto assumed the ball was going foul, so he needed this little reminder to show what can happen when you assume. For all those millions of dollars that Votto is being paid now, the least he can do is watch the ball until it lands...or crack a smile after making a goof like this one. Something tells me Votto won't make that mistake again.

Video via MLB.com.
Previous
Next Post »
discussion by