Santiago Casilla's interference gives Eric Hinske ground rule double (Video)

San Francisco Giants relief pitcher Santiago Casilla had a brain spasm while warming up in the bullpen as he picked up a live ball during Wednesday's game against the Arizona Diamondbacks, and it arguably cost the Giants the game.

In the eighth inning with the Giants up 1-0, Casilla was warming up on the mound in left field foul territory near the third base line.  D-backs hitter Eric Hinske hit a line drive to left field which landed in fair territory and bounced right to Casilla, who instinctively scooped it up without thinking about it, giving Hinske a ground rule double.  Gerardo Parra came in to pinch run for Hinske, and Parra came around to score as A.J. Pollock hit a double on the next at-bat.

Casilla did come into the game to get the Giants out of the eighth inning without giving up any more runs, but the Diamondbacks went on to win the game 3-2 in 10 innings.

We expect this kind of thing from Hooters ball girls, but not from major league baseball players who are supposed to know the rules.

Video via

Related Posts:
Next Post »
discussion by