Sidney Crosby gets misconduct penalty for chirping at referee (Video)


Pittsburgh Penguins superstar Sidney Crosby received a 10 minute misconduct penalty less than two minutes into Saturday night's NHL game at Tampa Bay.

Crosby got tangled up with Lightning center Yanni Gourde during the first minute of the game. Play was stopped and Crosby was sent to the penalty box with a two minute cross checking penalty. Gourde was not punished, giving the Lightning a power play which they quickly took advantage of, as right winger Nikita Kucherov scored at 1:36 to give the Lightning a 1-0 lead.

Crosby clearly was not happy, as he came out of the box and got right in the face of head referee Dan O'Rourke. At a certain point, Crosby crossed the line with his words and O'Rourke threw him back in the box with a misconduct penalty.

Here's how it all played out:


The Lightning did not score again while Crosby served his misconduct penalty, but did score a ton of goals as they blew out the Penguins 7-1.

[SportsNet]
Previous
Next Post »
discussion by