Umpire accidentally rings up A's batter after strike two (Video)

In another inexcusable case of a major league umpire losing count of balls and strikes behind home plate, CB Bucknor accidentally rang up Oakland A's batter Seth Smith on strike two during extra innings of Thursday's marathon game at the Coliseum.

It happened in the bottom of the 11th as Bucknor made the emphatic "strike three" call on the 2-1 pitch to Smith. Fortunately, Bucknor quickly realized his own mistake, to his credit, and corrected it immediately. Bucknor was able to laugh at himself, but given the increasing frequency of MLB umpires losing count of balls and strikes, it's a disturbing trend that's not very funny at all.

Video via MLB.

Related posts:
Next Post »
discussion by