Pete Crow-Armstrong uses helmet to keep contact with second base vs. Mets (Video)

Pete Crow-Armstrong uses helmet to touch second base, Cubs vs. Mets, 5/2/2024
Chicago Cubs center fielder Pete Crow-Armstrong was the beneficiary of an extremely questionable call during Thursday afternoon's game against the New York Mets as he used his helmet to remain in contact with second base and avoid being tagged out.

It happened in the top of the sixth inning with one out and a runner on third as the Cubs held a 4-2 lead. On the 3-2 pitch, Crow-Armstrong pulled the ball into the right field corner to knock in a run, then rounded first base as the ball bounced off the outfield wall. Crow-Armstrong made it into second base easily, but took off his helmet as he slid past the bag, then used his helmet to touch the base as the throw came in from the outfield.

Shortstop Joey Wendle caught the ball on the bounce and tagged Crow-Armstrong, who was on his knee and only touching the base with his helmet. The right call would seem to be that Crow-Armstrong was out as he was not touching the base with any part of his body. However, second base umpire Carlos Torres called him safe.

Now, how could Crow-Armstrong be safe on this play? Seems like an unfair advantage that a runner can use his equipment to give him that extra reach so he can stay on base. We will admit that we are not the experts on this rule, but if he is safe according to the rule as it stands, then the rule may need to be changed. Otherwise, this can be added to the long list of blown calls by MLB umpires.

Crow-Armstrong finished the game 2-for-4 with 2 RBI before being taken out before being taken out of the game in the 11th inning. The Mets managed to overcome the Cubs lead to send the game into extra innings, where they won the game 7-6 in 11 innings.


Next Post »