NFL Teams Who Won Back-To-Back Super Bowls

The Super Bowl features a long history of exciting games and  electrifying championship teams. However, very few NFL teams have been successful in defending their title after winning one. One factor is the NFL Draft, which is designed to even things out over time by allowing the worst teams to pick the best college players. Another factor is free agency, which can make it expensive for teams to keep their best players. Some of it comes down to luck, as a few key injuries can derail a season. All of these factors can impact Super Bowl odds and cause them to change year after year. 

Teams that manage to pull off the rare back-to-back Super Bowl wins not only show everyone that their skills and strategies continue to be better than everyone else, but also manage to keep the core of their team together and reload with new players despite fewer opportunities in the draft and losing key players in free agency. 

So who are the outstanding teams who pulled it off?

Green Bay Packers: Super Bowls I and II

In the first championship game between the NFL and AFL back in 1967, the Green Bay Packers took the field and decidedly beat the Kansas City Chiefs by the score of 35-10. With legendary head coach Vince Lombardi leading their team, the Packers were head and shoulders above the rest. 

Lombardi was a tremendous asset to the team and gave the Packers the motivation they needed to win time and time again. They returned to the Super Bowl the following year and defeated the Oakland Raiders 33-14 in Super Bowl II. Lombardi resigned as head coach of the Packers shortly afterwards, and Packers were unable to return to the Super Bowl under new leadership.  

Miami Dolphins: Super Bowl VII and VIII

After losing to the Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowl VI, the Miami Dolphins were on a mission. They returned to the championship game and defeated the Washington Redskins 14-7 in Super Bowl VII, completing the first and only undefeated season in NFL history in 1972. 

The Dolphins lost the second game of the 1973 season to end their undefeated streak, but still put together a strong 12-2 regular season. They stormed through the postseason and defeated the Minnesota Vikings 24-7 in Super Bowl VIII.   

Pittsburgh Steelers: Super Bowl IX and X, and Super Bowl XIII and XIV

The Pittsburgh Steelers of the 1970s became one of the most dominant teams of their era. Led by future Pro Football Hall of Famers Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris and Lynn Swann on offense along with the "Steel Curtain" defensive line featuring "Mean" Joe Greene, the Steelers became the first (and only) team to win back-to-back Super Bowls not once, but twice. After beating the Minnesota Vikings and Dallas Cowboys in Super Bowls IX and X, they returned to the promise land a few years later to beat the Cowboys (again) and Rams in Super Bowls XIII and XIV. Overall, the Steelers have won six Super Bowls in their history.

San Francisco 49ers: Super Bowl XXIII and XXIV 

In Super Bowl XXIII, the San Francisco 49ers beat the Cincinnati Bengals 20-16, with quarterback Joe Montana leading a 92-yard drive and finishing with a touchdown in the final minute to win the game in one of the most exciting finishes in Super Bowl history. 

Super Bowl XXIV was much different, however. The Niners still earned the victory, this time over the Denver Broncos. However, the outcome was decided much earlier in the game. San Francisco had a 27-3 lead at halftime on the way to a 55-10 blowout victory, the biggest margin of victory in Super Bowl history.

Dallas Cowboys: Super Bowl XXVII and XXVIII 

Pro Football Hall of Famers Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irvin led the high-powered offense of the Dallas Cowboys as they destroyed the Buffalo Bills 52-17 in Super Bowl XXVII. This game is considered by many to be one of the worst games in Super Bowl history.

The following year, the Cowboys got off to a slow start, losing their first two games. However, they turned things around quickly to return to the Super Bowl and a rematch against the Bills. The game played out differently, as the Bills held a 13-6 lead at halftime, but the Cowboys made the necessary adjustments to turn things around and put the game away, rolling to a 30-13 victory in Super Bowl XXVIII to repeat as NFL champions.

Denver Broncos: Super Bowl XXXII and XXXIII

Led by Hall of Famers John Elway and Terrell Davis, the Denver Broncos surprised the defending Super Bowl champion Green Bay Packers, scoring the deciding touchdown with under two minutes left to win Super Bowl XXXII by the score of 31-24.

The following year, the Broncos dominated the NFL regular season with a record of 14-2, returning to the Super Bowl as the favorite and beating the Atlanta Falcons 34-19.

New England Patriots: Super Bowl XXXVIII and XXXIX

Super Bowl XXXVIII was one of the most exciting games in history, with future Hall of Famer Tom Brady leading the Patriots to their second championship in three seasons. With the score tied at 29, Pats kicker Adam Vinatieri kicked a game-winning field goal with 4 seconds left to seal the victory.

The game the following year was just as close, with a 14-14 score after three quarters. However, the Patriots were able to outscore the Philadelphia Eagles 10-7 in the fourth quarter to close out a 24-21 victory and win back-to-back Super Bowls.


There have been no back-to-back Super Bowl winners in nearly two decades, making the current streak the longest drought of repeat NFL champions.  The LA Rams have high expectations this season, but could the Rams break the streak?  Odds are against it, but only time will tell.
Next Post »